A stunning view of the cosmos from Cyprus

Coma Cluster

The Coma Cluster (Abell 1656) is a Large cluster of galaxies that contains over 1,000 identified galaxies. Along with Leo Cluster (Abell 1367), it is one of the main two clusters of the Coma Supercluster. It is located in the Constellation Coma Berenices, from which it also takes its name from.

The mean distance of the cluster from Earth is 99 Mpc (321 million light years). Its ten brightest spiral galaxies have apparent sizes of mag. 12 to 14, which can be observed with amateur telescopes larger than 20 cm. The central region is dominated by two large elliptical galaxies: NGC 4874 and NGC 4889, located within a few degrees of the galactic north pole in the sky. Most galaxies that inhabit the central part of the coma cluster are ellipses. Both dwarf and giant ellipses can be found in abundance in the Coma cluster.

Comma Cluster (Abell 1656) Copyright: Damian Peach, Spica Observatory

This stunning photo was taken by one of the world’s best astrophotographers Damian Peach using data taken from the SPICA Observatory in Prodromos, Cyprus.


SPICA is a remote observatory operating from Prodromos in Cyprus. It hosts telescopes for remote operation via the internet by private individuals and research institutions for astrophotography and space domain awareness.



author: Maria Enotiade

sources: Coma Cluster, ABELL 1656 GALAXY CLUSTER

To top arrow